Five promising researchers from universities around Australia are the 2022 recipients of the Australian Academy of Science Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scientist Award.

The award recognises research in the physical and biological sciences, allowing interdisciplinary and sociocultural research that could straddle the social sciences and humanities, by outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander PhD students and early- and mid-career scientists.

Jeff yarns with Dr Jordan Pitt from the University of Adelaide.

Five Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scientists awarded

Five Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scientists awarded

Dr Pitt’s project looks at the interaction between sea ice and ocean waves, in order to improve future climate models. He said current models of sea ice are not accurate enough to produce convincing projections of Australia’s climate.

“I am deeply honoured to receive this award and very excited to advance my research,” said Dr Pitt.

“I hope to continue the work of previous award winners and Indigenous scientists to inspire others to STEM excellence and to make the STEM pathways for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders well-trodden.”

From left: Dr Jordan Pitt, Tamara Riley, Vanessa Sewell, Dr Keane Wheeler and Luke Williams.